Blog 051: Where I Talk About Babies

Welcome to blog post 51, the beginning of the road to 100.

Talking about beginnings, there will be a new life who is going to have a new beginning in this world in couple of months, and I have never been so much excited in my entire life. For anyone who is new to my blog, my sister is pregnant with her first child and so it’s kind of a very big deal. It’s not only her first child but it’ll be the first in our family. The first of the next generation.

A couple of days ago, I accompanied my sis along with my mom to her sonography test. It was the first time I have ever watched a sonography and the first time a live baby inside and not outside, and.. it was beautiful. It was like seeing a miracle taking place right in front of you, and it definitely is a miracle. The complete nine months of the baby forming till it comes out, everything is an automated process that is so perfect that no human could possibly re-create. It is beautiful to see a baby inside a mother’s womb all alive and moving. It is beautiful to see life take place.

Later, my sis even let me feel the baby kicking… yeah.. it was super weird and kinda creepy.. but in an amazing way.

I just can’t wait till it’s born. I love babies and kids so, so much I can forget everything and spend the entire day just with them. They are so adorable and do the weirdest and funniest things when they are in their happy and playful mood. Yeah, of course they are a little bit annoying when they cry and scream at 100+dB and wake everyone up in a 100m radius in the middle of the night, but other times they are just pure nature’s beauty. Unfortunately, I still have a long way to go before I can have one of my own.

But do you know what was really disappointing about the test? We don’t know whether it’s a boy or a girl! Sigh..

I don’t know what the law is in other countries but in India it’s a crime to disclose that particular information. The doctors would be fined and potentially could lose their licence. It is actually unfortunate that this law had to be put into place because the reason behind is the complete opposite of birth, it’s abortion.

So, India, the second largest country in terms of population. 1.342 billion and counting as of 2017. Imagine the number of babies being born every second. Now imagine the number of abortions that would take place if people knew it was a girl, in a land where a boy was more important as a he will earn for the family, whereas a she wouldn’t. Fortunately, that didn’t happen, but there were number of cases where abortions were done after knowing the baby was a girl. Hence, a law was put into place to not disclose the sex of the baby.

Now if you are wondering what the deal is with girls not being preferred, well let me explain in brief. See, the mentality of people before was that, girls don’t need to go to work because that’s a man’s job. The girl will basically be at home helping her mother in household work and later be married to some guy. So she basically is like a wasted investment which has absolutely zero monetary returns. On the other hand, if it’s a boy, then he will work and earn for the family. He will also bring a ‘bahu'(daughter-in-law) who will do all the housework and take good care of her mother and father-in-law. Boy is profit. Hence, a baby boy is preferred.

This was the basic mentality of people of previous generations, which has thankfully changed a LOT at least in the major cities of the country. But there are still villages where this is practiced, which is sad. By the way, I am not saying that abortions took place in villages more than cities, no not all. In fact, there were many cases where the riches would carry it out just because they either weren’t ready for a baby or the other family didn’t want a girl. I mean, there were a lot of factors and reasons for not having a baby girl and abortions taking place, and hence the law was put into place. It’s good though, hopefully more cute baby girls being born. :)

By the way, I totally support and respect all the women around the world who, in this male dominated planet, do amazing and extraordinary work and help make this world a better place, no matter the obstacles they face. Cheers to the all the strong women.

And also a belated Happy Mother’s Day to all the beautiful and strong mothers around the world. You are the reason we are here. :)

By the way, I’m the only person who thinks my sis is going to have a baby girl. Everyone, practically everyone has said that it is going to be a boy, and even the physical signs (according to my wiki-mom) tell the same thing. But I like to be different. I like to bet on the least odds. So, if it’s a girl, I will be the only person who will be completely right, and also the most happiest. Yeah, I’ll be happy if it’s a boy too but not as much. Let’s see, there’s still 2 whole months to go.

I think I’ll end my post here. There was a lot of baby talk and a little bit of serious information but I did enjoy writing this piece. Took a lot more time than usual.

Anyways, this is Nad, signing off.

Goodnight.


Consider supporting me. It’ll help me with this blog and all my other work. Thank you. :)
Patreon | Etsy | Donate

Support while shopping :)
Amazon India: http://amzn.to/2qU8njw
Amazon US: http://amzn.to/2pOEIqQ

Leave a feedback

